back to article Chill out, biz barons... your new IT system might not look like the old one

Organisations that wish to update their IT systems and transform their business need to be careful not to be overly prescriptive with suppliers and overlook other important considerations, an expert in resolving IT disputes has said. Ian Birdsey of Pinsent Masons, the law firm behind Out-Law.com, said that organisations often …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. jake Silver badge

What the fuck does "overly prescriptive" mean?

I've been designing IT systems for about 40 years ... My needs (in this context) are your corporate needs, thus my rules apply. If you don't like it, don't offer me the contract.

I am, however, sick and tired of marketards & manglement trying to tell me how to construct the systems that they supposedly hired me to design ... If they already know the details of how it needs to work, why are they paying me obscene amounts of money to design it for them?

To date? No complaints. My completed systems work.

1. Destroy All Monsters Silver badge
      Meh

Re: What the fuck does "overly prescriptive" mean?

Insulting your customers?

That's a formula for success.

> designing IT systems for about 40 years

40 years ago, IT systems were 1 mainframe and 2 terminals. What are you saying here?

1. Kristian Walsh Silver badge

Overly prescriptive = telling your contractors *how* you want something done, rather than telling them what you want to do with it, and why. The *how* part should always be the contractor's job, once they know "what". "why" is useful because it allows better solutions to be proposed...

2. jake Silver badge

@DAM (was: Re: What the fuck does "overly prescriptive" mean?)

"Insulting your customers?"

If you like. I tell it like it is. Don't like my methodology? Your issue, not mine. I build systems, not egos.

"What are you saying here?"

I've been making money doing this for 40ish years. Your point?

2. Fatman