back to article Anonymous cell: Shove off, credit-hoggers, WE took down HSBC

An Anonymous-affiliated group has claimed responsibility for attacks that left HSBC websites worldwide knocked offline on Thursday night. UK-based Fawkes Security claimed responsibility for the digital sit-in via a post to Pastebin. As some of you may be aware HSBC bank suffered several DDoS attacks on the named sites in the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. JDX Gold badge

Question

If the DDOS attack is still ongoing, how do you get back online... and why can't the DDOS just continue running for days or weeks?

1. DJ Smiley

Re: Question

To answer your second question, they can.

As for the first, I'm no expert but you get "clever" about dropping the traffic instead of dealing with it nicely.

2. Crazy Operations Guy

DDoS attacks are usually mitigated with some basic logic inserted into Firewall:

1) If an IP starts sending more than a handful of ICMP or starts, but doesn't finish, a certain number of TCP sessions in a certain time, it will block them for an hour; then 2 for the second offense; 4 for the third, and so on.

2) limiting the number of active sessions in the application

3) limit number of requests of log-in pages and other pages to about 3-4 per IP

4) blocking out-of-region IPs, EG the UK branch will stop accepting packets from other nations

5) moving targeted pages to CDNs or caches

6) modify the pages so that an automated attack would have to be constantly adapted, but a normal user would be able to find everything (EG putting the login page behind another page but have the proper buttons in place)

These are just s few mitigation systems I've worked with, there are others, but the main point is to reduce the effect the DDoS has on you to the point were the attackers are just throwing money away on botnets with little effect. Once that happens, the attack stops fairly quickly as botnets get expensive fast.

1. Anonymous Coward