back to article Microsoft seizes Chinese dot-org to kill Nitol bot army

Microsoft has disrupted the emerging Nitol botnet - and more than 500 additional strains of malware - by taking control of a rogue dot-org website. The takedown is the latest in Microsoft's war against armies of hacker-controlled PCs. The Windows 8 giant's Operation b70 team discovered crooks were selling computers loaded with …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Ragarath
    Go

See that Haynes Build your oen PC book is useful!

For those that never have (I assume not many here) go on; you won't regret it.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Well..

Congrats to MS for really stepping up and taking this on. They are big on process and once they get a process in place to deal with these kinds of things quickly, it will have an effect. I did a 360 degree threat model several years ago and 2nd hand PC's from ebay and the like were the most likely systems to contain malware. Crooks could afford to nearly give them away because the botnet was way more valuable than any profit they could make off a used PC. Bought a second hand machine online recently? Dump the drives and get new ones.

1. Yet Another Anonymous coward Silver badge

Re: Well..

Not really a solution though is it?

You seize 3322.org, the virus dials home to 3323.org, you seize that... - what's the maximum length of a domain name?

The real problem is:

You have to buy a computer with a pre-loaded Windows OS.

Your only guarantee of security is the MS hologram, but all this means is that a chain of lowest bidder Chinese suppliers actually paid Redmond for a license.

You do your "security updates" but on a computer that's already compromised.

The only solution would be to buy a retail copy of the OS - for more than the price of the machine - and wipe the installed OEM OS. Perhaps OEM machines should actually only come with a license sticker and MS mails you a genuine install disk for free?

1. asdf