back to article Foxconn to investigate iPhone 5 factory woes

Foxconn, the Chinese contract manufacturer, has admitted it's "not perfect" and promised to investigate conditions at its Tai Yuan plant after an undercover exposé by an undercover reporter revealed filthy dorms and bullying by managers on the iPhone 5 production line. The report by a Shanghai Evening Post hack details (via …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Foxconn have a plan......

....replace humans with robots, who can't complain!

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Foxconn have a plan......

No they do not.

Robots - expensive. Humans - not so much. At least in places where there is no law or law can be bought.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Except for

The dormitary it sound like the work you do in any other mass production factory around the world.

Repetitive, boring, RSI inducing hard work.

As a student I had a part time job making aircraft meals, injecting meat paste into pasty things,I found that hell yet there were those who had been there years.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Re: Except for

I had a job working 12 hour shifts putting CDs into CD cases.

We weren't allowed to talk while we worked. We had to punch out when we went to the toilet. If the line worked too slow everyone was docked pay. We got paid minimum wage.

This job was in Sussex.

1. Anonymous Coward
          Anonymous Coward

Re: Except for

.... oh, and you also got docked pay if you worked too quickly (as you'd be waiting a few minutes for more CDs to be put onto the conveyor belt).

2. nuked
    Thumb Up

Perspective

Compared to conditions in this country a decade ago, this report sounds like a holiday camp.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

"the reporter complained of cockroach-ridden dorm rooms full of piled up rubbish and of being forced to sleep under dirty, ash-stained bedsheets."