back to article Why embossed credit cards are here to stay

Embossed numbers on credit cards are here to stay, and probably for a very long time, say the big three credit card issuers. The raised numbering on credit cards may seem anachronistic given that EMV chips are increasingly being adopted around the world, while magnetic strip cards have been with us for decades. The long …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Bruce Hoult

Here for a while yet

I'm an instructor at a gliding club in New Zealand. We do about 50 credit card transactions a month for trial flights worth on average around £100 each. In the last five years we've gotten internet (and electricity!) in our clubhouse, but at this transaction level online authorization machine rental plus transaction fees would cost us far more than the fees for our old zip-zap machine. We get a considerable reduction in fees by phoning in each transaction to get an authorisation number, so it is pretty much as safe for the card issuer as an electronic transaction would be.

The situation may well be different for organisations with a lower average transaction value.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Never use credit cards.

I realize I'm supposed to be in perpetual debt to my bank but I'm not doing it, therefore I don't use credit cards.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Never use credit cards.

I use it only as a convenience. I pay off the total balance every month, so never pay any interest charge. The annual fee is also waived due to the overall volume.

Yes I could use a Debit Card, but why use my money when I can use somebody else money for a month with no charge (and not risk my own money to a fraudulant transaction)?

1. Richard 12 Silver badge

Exactly right!

In the UK simply using a credit card gives you the protection of the consumer credit act and a big bank that wants to keep its reputation and business.