back to article Death of IE6 still greatly exaggerated, says browser hit squad

Internet Explorer 6 dead? In your dreams, Microsoft, in your dreams. Redmond broke out the dancing shoes and did a twirl on IE6's grave in January, citing data that showed its once-celebrated, now-hated browser had slipped below 1 per cent US market share. The decline followed some determined pushing by, of all people, …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Semaj
    Mushroom

Some companies will never update, just as some are still using mainframe systems. They will have to live with the repercussions of that decision. The decision being to become reliant on cowboy coder products that were designed only to work in IE6.

I have been a web dev long enough to know that coding for IE6 only is an intentional decision made to increase support costs and is highly unethical. Any company fool enough to employ developers bad enough to do that deserves what they get.

Or they can suck it up and deal with some change for once.

1. Ben Holmes
      Unhappy

Change costs money. There's very rarely an ethic of 'spend to save' in the types of company you're thinking of. If there was, we wouldn't be in this mess.

2. Kubla Cant
      Stop

A bit harsh

Many of these IE6-only applications are probably legacy systems that were written at a time when IE6 dominated the market. It was only when standards-compliant browsers were more widespread that it really became clear that applications written for IE6 were not portable.

I doubt that there are many cowboy developers who create bad or non-portable code with an eye to future support work. All the developers I know dislike support work, hate supporting old code, and utterly detest working on code designed for an obsolete platform.

1. Tom 13

Yep. While the battle between Netscape and MS led to