back to article BOFH: Hordes unleashed... by a RAM upgrade

BOFH Volume 5 It’s the same old story – you make some tiny change and before you know it they're oozing out of the woodwork. You know who I'm talking about – the idiots. They notice that your signature uses Garamond instead of Times Roman and before you know it they're on the phone wanting to know if there's a new …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. John Riddoch
    WTF?

Wait, what?

"PFY's fault for pointing out that the desktops we were dumping had the same memory as half the desktops we were keeping and so if there were free slots on the keepers we may as well use them"

This sounds remarkably customer focussed for the PFY & the BOFH... What about the opportunity for a bidding process and all the back-handers & corporate freebies such an exercise entails?

1. kyle elliott
      Boffin

Sometimes making a little work saves a lot

As an IT pro, I've learned that sometimes that adding memory to the desktops may create some work up front, but will save you a lot of "it's slow" calls later down the line that eat up tons of your time only to get rejected whenever you put in a request for new equipment. That little tiny bit of customer focus was entirely self motivated because everyone knows that the only response to "it's slow" is tell them to shut up and deal with it.

The mistake came into play when they told someone they were doing it. Never tell people about upgrades, because the moment you do everything is at fault of the upgrade. I have literally heard someone bitch about the fact the damned microwave wasn't working on a computer software upgrade on a server. Users hear upgrade and think "this is my chance to bitch about everything" so never tell the user there is an upgrade. Ever.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

So familiar...

Whey does this sound so similar to my day-to-day work? Oh, right. Beacuse this is exactly what my users do, every day.

3. Ryan 7
    Thumb Up