back to article Microsoft+HTML: The antidote to iOS and Android

For a comparatively brief period of time, hardware companies like Nokia and telco operators like AT&T ruled the mobile roost. But as they're now learning – and not doubt stewing over – software is increasingly king in mobile, just like it is on the desktop. The winning strategy in this software-centric world is one that puts …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Steve Davies 3 Silver badge
    Linux

There is more to this than just numbers

I'm referring to Quality.

Some of the Android apps I've installed are so flaky that as a Software Dev I'd be ashamed to release things with so many bugs.

If you contrast that to the app I used on my old iPhone, frankly there is no competition. the iPhone wins hands down.

It appear that the Android App devs have been afflicted by the Microsoft/FOSS Disease (and I'm speaking as a FOSS dev in my spare time) that they don't understand the meaning of 'Getting to Done'. i.e. making the app complete and work properly before releasing 'stuff' before it is ready and letting the users find the bugs.

MS has been doing this for years. It is a habit that many OpenSource projects have adopted as well. I applaud the efforts of the LibreOffice Community to clean up and fix the bugs in the codebase they inherited.

I wish more projects would adopt a 'This release is going to be a bugfix only'.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Hardware issues.

iPhone devs have a single device with known hardware specs to develop for. If it fails on the latest iPhone it is a total fail and won't be released...

Android devs have hundreds of devices to cater for, and they will only have a handful of test phones, so while it may work on an HTC desire and a samsung galaxy S it may not on a sony xperia.