back to article Farewell, Novell

The sale of former local-area networking powerhouse Novell to Attachmate has been completed. The $2.2bn sale was first announced in November, and it ends the independent life of a once-dominant network operating system vendor. In later years, its original market snuffed out by Microsoft, the company had become the home of the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anteaus
    Thumb Down

Novell priced themselves out

Having been originally trained as a Netware installer, I recall that platform with something of a grimace.

Basically, Novell had a good product for its time but priced themselves out of the market by way of punitive licensing arrangements. In one case we had to pay over £2000 to add two users to a system, because they refused to sell us two licenses and instead demanded that we buy a (one-point) version upgrade for the whole site.

It was after this experience we switched to NT.

Later they switched to Linux, but by that time we were using Microsoft or Debian and weren't interested.

1. Daniel B.

Agreed.

Novell was very, very pricey back in the early IPX days. Before the NT days, Novell was probably the only LAN option for PC networks running MS-DOS. Novell took advantage of this and had extortionate pricing for their licenses.

So naturally, Microsoft release Windows NT with cheap licensing, and everyone moved to NT. By the time Novell reacted, it was too late.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Unhappy

*sniff*

Alas, Netware, I knew thee well, even though the Windows client was crap. Bailed out of network support before MS took over and screwed everything up.

3. Alan Bourke
    Dead Vulture

Whine Microsoft moan whine ...

... when clearly Novell was far more the author of its own demise. Ropey Windows client support and cavalier disregard for the locking needs of legacy applications, I'm looking at you.

4. Jon 33
    Pint

Tis a shame

Think there should be a wake for good old Novell...