back to article While Apple fanbois rage at Catalina, iGiant quietly drops iOS and macOS security patches

Apple has released patches for the hated macOS Catalina – but not to fix the operating system's UI failures. These are security updates also affecting iOS and Apple Watches, and include one that prevents a remote attacker from executing code on your iThings. Affecting macOS Catalina 10.15, Mojave 10.14.6 and High Sierra 10.13. …

1. Maximum Delfango
    Unhappy

Apple software quality seems to be definitely dropping...

It all used to 'just work'. Now it 'works, just'.

1. Len
      Holmes

Re: Apple software quality seems to be definitely dropping...

To be honest, I'm not sure any of this is new.

I have been using every version macOS since 2005 and every time the pattern is similar.

1) Months before the release people beg Apple to "release the new version already, I'm sure it's ready!!!111"

2) People in the beta programme say it's all working fine for them and they love new thing X,Y and Z!

3) People complain that the download is slow on launch day and they only had it up and running two hours after it was released.

4) People report problem A, B and C and complain that the new version was clearly rushed out. "Why couldn't Apple wait a bit longer before releasing!!!!111"

5) After the second big update, three months later, nearly every issue is solved and everyone's stopped complaining.

6) People start calling this version "the best OS Apple has ever made!!!111"

7) People start looking forward to the next major release...

Want to avoid all this? Simple, always wait until .2 or .3 before upgrading (perhaps 10.15.3 just to be safe?). I have done so since 2005 and never had any major issues with OS X or macOS.

1. paulf Silver badge
        Coat

I'd suffix that advice by suggesting caution around the last version of a major release, too.