back to article Microsoft officially hangs up on old Skype phones, users fuming

Microsoft has officially decommissioned the Skype-calling support service SkypeKit, leaving some old VOIP handset users on hold. "I have just been royally upset by them," writes Tim Moore, a RTX Skype phone owner in South Devon, in an email to The Register. According to Microsoft, SkypeKit gave internet-connected devices and …

1. Bronek Kozicki

RIP Skype ?

I do not keep Skype open any longer at home PC, because 1) it started displaying ads even though I am paid customer and 2) sometimes its chat window would lag by minutes, making it unusable. On the other hand I've been using SIP since last 3 years (with AA ISP and Panasonic phone) and am no longer tempted by cheap international rates in Skype. I have cheap international rates on my SIP too, and I can use it without being tied to a PC. My only regret is there is no good chat service to replace Skype, but perhaps I will simply setup my own for friends and family. If I actually need it.

I feel a little sorry for the chap who was using Skype for VoIP, but really he should have moved on to proper SIP.

1. Captain Scarlet Silver badge

Re: RIP Skype ?

I currently use Discord (until they start advertising in the apps) but in theory any IRC server can act as your chat service

1. fobobob

They seem to have relatively recently monetized some additional features (rather than crapping on people by locking existing features/ad-freeness behind subscription fee). Hopefully they continue to take the high road.

2. Drtim

I am the chap. At the time I set everything up, my only internet connection was over a slow 3g link and none of the SIP codecs would work reliably. Skype however did. And it all worked great, cordless phone, landline number, cheap calls and no ads as it was just a phone.

1. Bronek Kozicki

well what can I say ... hope you have better connection now. SIP is the way to go, if you need a regular number.

1. uncommon_sense