back to article Facebook, Google execs cough to their biggest privacy blunders

Facebook, Google and Microsoft spent a few minutes today discussing at this year's RSA conference in San Francisco how they attempt to protect your privacy. El Reg asked execs present from the trio of tech giants to name their biggest privacy cockups, and surprisingly two out of the three had an answer. "Beacon might be a …

1. Mark 85

From where I sit, and knowing that we are the product on FB and Google... I'd say that their business plan is a privacy blunder. Ok.. maybe not a blunder since it's intentional. If Google wants to target me with ads, then fine, target me during a search for a product. Not for days afterward. But that's minor compared to FB and it's active pushing for more info from users and by default, everything being public.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

I am not a product, I am not a number, I am a free man.

I can dream can't I?

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

"I am not a product, I am not a number, I am a free man"

Yes, your UID told us you thought that...

2. Mark 85

We agree THX 1138... now back to work.

3. Stevie

I am not a product, I am not a number, I am a free man.

There's a large weather balloon at the front door. Wants to speak to "Keef" about something.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

They do target you while you're searching and making your purchasing decision. The ads you get for similar (or identical) products after you've made your purchase is just Google playing their customers (people placing ads) for all they're worth.

on a totally different subject:

"...had been mode on websites...". Guys (and Gals) buy a propheshunil speeeling/grammer shecker, or make me an offer.

3. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Google Glass

Google Glass is the Leisure Suit of the 21st Century, and like leisure suits of the 1970's, wearing it broadcasts not just the bad taste of the wearer, but that they are sleazy.