back to article You need a list of specific unknowns we may encounter? Huh?

The CIO flew in the other day. I am just a contractor so I only hear stories but so mythical is this fellow that I get the impression he must have flown in by winged chariot and would be trotting across town to our office on a company-funded unicorn. His arrival would then be announced by a fanfare of trumpets and a team of …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Sooo true....

Ah... you have just captured the essence of project & strategic consultancy in once swell foop :

"When asked to point out where a project is going wrong, don’t for god’s sake try to tell them."

Why did they not teach me that in my (bogus but expensive) MBA ????

~~

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Re: Sooo true....

At my MBA school one of the first things they taught us in our "consulting" class, was that you must immediately make sure you recommend more consulting services, as any problem that can be solved on the first take is not big enough to pull down a big paycheck. You made it look too easy. So you need to make the problem bigger!

1. This post has been deleted by its author

2. This post has been deleted by its author

2. Fungus Bob
      Trollface

Re: Sooo true....

He should ice that foop so the swelling goes down

2. Gotno iShit Wantno iShit

So familiar

I used to be just like you Mr Dabbs, it used to drive me potty the wasteful ways in which things are done and then done all over again each time a PHB tweaked the requirement spec for his own aggrandisement. Trying to care was giving me no end of headaches and blood pressure that at my age now would be a problem. Over the years I have developed a credo that helps keep me sane. The long version is:

I am paid as much to rub out as I am to write.

The short version is:

DILLIGAF kerching.

1. Semtex451
      Pint

Re: So familiar