back to article Dimming the lights on smart(arse) TV

"The TV has stopped working." This is the kind of announcement that I both dread and am accustomed to in the Dabbs household. A bit like the bath-fitter who is expected to know how to fix blocked sewers, as a computer journalist I am held personally to account upon the failure at home of anything electronic... or indeed …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. horsham_sparky
    Devil

sounds familiar

Being a sparky (Electronics Engineer.. not an electrical engineer, and yes there is a difference!), I get the same all the time.. parents, partner, friends.. can you fix my (insert latest fad-gadge here)

Normally my response is "No problem! By the way, I charge £40 per hour.. because I don't have the schematics, BOM or any other information for it and I'm not likely to ever get it from the manufacturer, I have no idea how long it will take or even if can be fixed"

they reply

"£40 per hour!! I'd be better off buying a new one!"

to which I reply with a smug smile

"Yes.. you would!"

1. Wize

Re: sounds familiar

You don't work with Silvery Technology per chance?

1. horsham_sparky

Nope, not come across them before sorry

I work mostly on Medical Electronics

1. Wize

No probs. Thought you were someone I knew.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Smart TV

Only if it knows what I want for tea without me asking, cooks it to perfection then has it served to me by a stocking wearing perfectly formed and pretty lady who will even peel my grapes for me and serve them up on a silver platter.

Now that would be a TRUE Smart TV!

1. Naughtyhorse

peel my grapes

ooh err

sounds a bit rude

2. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Re: "served to me by a stocking"

Dear Mr AC 14:26, allow me to introduce you to the hyphen. Here it is:

-

It makes a pretty important difference between saying something quite nonsensical and allowing the reader to understand what you actually intended.