back to article US quakes before MENACING TURKEYS, snow globes

Americans have been advised to head for the bunkers as Department of Homeland Security quakes before the latest threat existential threat to the union: Thanksgiving. The department, founded in the wake of the September 11 attacks, tweeted a series of warnings to worried citizens yesterday, as the danger level escalated. The …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. laird cummings
    Devil

When Turkey fryers are banned...

The turkeys have won.

Be a patriot - fry a turkey today!

1. Voland's right hand Silver badge
      Joke

First they came for the Turkey friers...

I stayed silent.

Then they came for...

2. dotdavid
    FAIL

"It also advised flyers to check their bags for guns and knives, although it accepted this "sounds silly". "

And having to check for snowglobes and pies sounds sensible? Idiocy.

3. mark fernandes
    Mushroom

Dammit Jim, I'm a cook not a fireman!

Try the shatner advert on how not to deep fry. Y-o-u c-a-n n-o-t b-e-l-i-e-v-e t-h-e d-a-n-g-e-r...

http://www.nydailynews.com/life-style/eats/william-shatner-teaches-thanksgiving-turkey-frying-safety-state-farm-insurance-video-article-1.978564

1. Olafthemighty
      WTF?

I don't understand.

W-h-y... d-i-d... t-h-e-y... r-e-c-o-r-d... t-h-a-t... a-t... h-a-l-f... s-p-e-e-d? Weird.

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

I've spotted their mistake!

You're supposed to fry the turkey in vegetable oil not petrol!

1. raving angry loony

it was.

That WAS vegetable oil. Petrol would have made a much more satisfying bang.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Re: it was

Whooooooooooooooosh!

Are you American?

2. BlinkenLights
      FAIL

No Mistake

Have you never heard of the danger of chip pan fires? Vegetable oil may not be flammable at room temperature, but get it hot enough and it's just as dangerous. It can also be used as a biofuel in diesel engined vehicles.

5. Anonymous Coward