back to article Dell carves profit from slim revenue growth

Dell didn't dive as much as HP. Dell had lower sales than expected during the its first quarter of fiscal 2011, but it boasted a big profit boost, raising its expectations for revenues and earnings for the full year. HP, by contrast, is tightening its belt, while shaving $1bn to $1.5bn off of its revenue projections for the year …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Megaphone

I might get some thumbs down for this....

....but I've been saying for 5 years that Dell innovates more and gives better support than HP. I am HP storage certified and I know what I am talking about. DELL helped me immensily through many years by making reliable servers, laptops and desktops. I hate their sales screw-ups but they are very good in what matters: technical support and stable server line products. I think competition is always good for business and I don't want to see HP go away, but man.....they are sucking badly lately. Their products are behind in features, break all the time and HP support is a disaster.

I am not surprise by those numbers.

2. TheOtherJola
    Thumb Up

"Dell didn't dive as much as HP"

That's because HP can't write decent, quick-installing software for any of their devices if they tried.

Dell, on the other hand, can.

HP's latest printer driver is probably a 6GB download from their website.

I'd buy Dell over HP every single time.

(for workstations and servers and storage, anyway.)

3. Robert E A Harvey

Trust

I agree with the existing comments: HP is going senile.

But after the reluctant, foot-shuffling, deceitful way Dell handled their desktop Linux options I am reluctant ever to deal with them ever again. They do give the impression of being worked by strings from Redmond.

The comparison really is of a Chrysler Neon and a Chevrolet Blazer. I want an Alfa Brera, or a VW Scirocco

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward