back to article What's the best compact camera?

I'm interested in purchasing a slimish digital camera. As has been said, "there are many to chose from". So which is the best? I was getting quite excited about the Pentax Optio Z10 until I read the review, which goes for quite a few that I have read about, namely the Ricoh Caplio 7 and the Casio exv7sr, which all do a similar …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. John Wards

Fuji F100fd

Fujifilm Finepix F100fd might be what your after.

A bit less money and you could get a Casio Exilim EX-Z1080 they are highly rated.

Or a Canon IXUS 860 IS.

As for the best...your going to struggle to get the same answer twice on that until the camera makes see some sense and stop chasing mega pixels and start putting bigger sensors in their cameras.

2. Andrew Taylor

Best Digital Camera

There is no easy way to answer "best" as this is very subjective but I will say what is best for me.

I am a journalist/photographer and have been for decades.

First of all, it had to be something I can put on my belt and have with me ALL THE TIME". A large DSLR bag of equipment can't be "lugged" around everywhere.

I want wide angle so a 35mm equivalent of 28mmm is a must, but I also want a good long range focus. There aren't many cameras that support this.

Then, Image Stabilisation is a must as trying to photograph at, say 280mmm with a tiny camera causes too much "bounce".

I want a camera where I can turn off all electronic sounds. Also one where I can quickly turn flash on and off. And one that allows a high ISO as, often for me, the picture is more important than the quality (Press).

I chose, in the end, one with a Leica lens but which was under £200 (street price). This was the Panasonic Lumix, TZ3 (although I think it has been superseded now by the TZ5.

As a professional, I have no allegiance to any specific make and if anything else turned out that did the job better, I would buy it and sell my old one on eBay.