back to article Microsoft yanks the document-destroying Windows 10 October 2018 Update

Microsoft has taken the unprecedented step of pulling a Windows 10 release a mere four days after its arrival amid a clamour of users complaining about files not being where they had left them. Windows Insider supremo Dona Sarkar took to Twitter to announce that Windows fans would no longer be able to get their hands on the …

1. Sureo

"where Windows 10 goes from here"

Dust off Windows 7, apply all those updates since SP1, and release it as Windows 20.

2. markrand
    Happy

At my ex-employer (65,000 people, at the time) I was a network admin. I got into a number of rows due to the department's policy of exempting all MS patches from any form of change control and requiring 100% installation within 5 days.

Schadenfreude, anyone...

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

My tablet has updated to 1809 - as I had an issue with the April update being stuck.

I didn't lose any files as it was in a factory reset anyway and OneDrive did sync and download all my cloud files.

What do I need to do in order to avoid losing any files in future as I can't roll back?

4. Dan 55 Silver badge

Re: 1809

MS claim you won't as it's a problem with a migration process to the new version.

Yes, it's actually like updating from XP to Vista or Vista to 7 or 7 to 8 every six months, only without you backing up beforehand as it's just pushed out and automatically installed.

5. Updraft102 Silver badge

Re: 1809

What do I need to do in order to avoid losing any files in future as I can't roll back?

Nothing. The problem was with the installation of 1809, so once it is installed, that particular threat has passed. Other threats, though... there will be more.

6. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Document Shredding

Did they bring in Banksy to make the UI a little more edgy?

7. Cynical IT Manager

OS SaaS = Fail