back to article Coke? Windows 8 is Microsoft's 'Vista moment'. Again

Microsoft has decided to backtrack on Windows 8 and loosen the Metro straitjacket the new OS applies to the traditional desktop. This U-turn is being described by commentators as Microsoft’s ""New Coke Moment" – where a business drops a brand-new flavour and reverts to the trusted and loved old recipe following a backlash from …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

1. Efros
    Pint

W8... really?

Ok this one will probably be downvoted to oblivion.

I use Windows 8 on three machines daily, 2 for work and one for home use. All three are multicore machines with SSD boot drves, all three were previously Windows 7 and all three perform better and more reliably under 8. I actually had to go and google a windows 8 BSOD to see what it looked like, never seen one. Boot times are ridiculously low, much faster than 7 and TIFKAM is history as I have boot to desktop and Startisback installed. I'm not a novice user and I delve into the nether regions of hardware/drivers/registry whenever required. The reorganisation of aspects of the W8 interface, whilst initially irritating soon disappears when you get used to it, as we all had to do in almost every version of windows since 1.0 (that one was installed, messed with and immediately consigned to the trash). TIFKAM should have been an option selectable if you had a touch screen, I wonder what the reception to 8 would have been if M$ had done this instead of forcing its use on everyone.

Beer for those who read it all.

1. marky_boi
      FAIL

Re: W8... really?

Tried the Beta, tried to like it .... gave it to my son, he tried to like it

gave up

last 2 PC purchases were from DELL who sell Business laptops with default of Win7.

Will not even consider W8 on it's current form. It will have to be an upgrade of W7 appearance before we consider it.

and................. MINT looks better and better all the time , even has Aero type effects