back to article Office junior had one job: Tearing perforated bits off tractor-feed dot matrix printer paper

Why look at that! Friday is upon us, which means it’s time to read this week’s edition of On-Call, our weekly column featuring Register readers’ recollections of tech support jobs gone wrong. This week meet “Pablo” who told us that “In the '90s I worked as a field service engineer for one of the leading companies supplying IT …

Page:

1. A K Stiles
    Boffin

It's printing upside down!

Several times (now in history) I've had to deal with people complaining that the printer was printing the letters upside down, to go to the print room, pause the print run because clearly leaving it to carry on printing 100 letters in the meantime was the best plan, open the paper drawer and rotate the sheaf of headed paper by 180 degrees so the heading was in the correct location - as stated by the large label I'd previously affixed to the front of the paper drawer ("Headed paper only, heading this end, face down"). Also removing the plain paper from the headed drawer, readjusting the paper-size margins and the old classic of pressing 'resume' on the printer to compel it to print the 'letter' format document onto the A4 sized paper when it has "stopped working again". Amazing the number of times one could resolve a problem by simply reading the information displayed on the LCD screen and doing what it said.

1. Uncle Slacky Silver badge

Re: It's printing upside down!

> Amazing the number of times one could resolve a problem by simply reading the information displayed on the LCD screen and doing what it said.

"PC LOAD LETTER"? What the fuck does *that* mean?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5QQdNbvSGok

1. David Nash Silver badge

We all know what it means, but why doesn't it just print on A4 anyway?

1. John Brown (no body) Silver badge

"We all know what it means, but why doesn't it just print on A4 anyway?"