back to article Photobucket says photo-f**k-it, starts off-site image shakedown

Photobucket is cracking down on people embedding on third-party websites images it hosts, until now, for free. The photo-slinging internet elder now says that anyone who wants to use its service to display photos it hosts on other pages – such as signature banners in forum posts – will now need to open up their wallets and …

Try using postimage.org instead. Seems OK to me

Alan

Thanks for suggesting that — I've been trying to find a decent host, as the ones I had been using for the past several years have all either merged, shut down, or switched to crappy interfaces.

Anonymous Coward

Third party hosting?

That's a weird definition of "hosting". I guess what they mean is external linking?

Silver badge

Just logged into photobucket

I just use(d) it as an extra backup store for some snaps. Remembered why I pretty much stopped a year or two back.It used to be very user-friendly. Then it got so much pushier and messier. It lost the feel of a nice little useful website for storing pictures (as noted above, the clue's in the name) and started to be a big business money grubber. Maybe they weren't making enough for it to have remained sustainable. Maybe they just got greedy. Either way to me it's just another site gone the way of Friends Reunited, from useful to ruthless to useless.

Anonymous Coward

$400

As has been pointed out $400/yr buys you a nice virtual host with 2Gb RAM and 2Tb storage, plus a domain name which can be had for around $10-$15 when they're not on offer, or $1-$5 otherwise.

You would need to be hosting an awful lot of pics on their site to make it worthwhile paying that sort of money to them.

Btw, I am trying to check their pricing plans (no, not going to sign up), but the site seems awfully unresponsive.