back to article Sysadmin's PC-scrub script gave machines a virus, not a wash

Welcome again to “Who, me?”, The Register’s confessional column in which readers reveal their mistakes*. This week meet “Chad”, who told us that “Very early in my career, while I was still in community college, I worked as a computer lab assistant at the school.” His assistance was needed because students did all sorts of …

Anonymous Coward

I can't forget some AV package...

...that claimed that a recently formatted PC was infected. It was formatted from a bloody hologram-printed, legit, Microsoft Windows CD, so it couldn't possibly be infected. Indeed, the AV package said the MS-pressed CD was infected as well.

False positives were not a thing back then... The AV package issued a fix that cleared the problem... who would you sue for spreading viruses? Microsoft? Good luck with that!

That one saved my face, when I proved the AV package claimed the freaking original MS CD had a virus and we all knew it was impossible, because the entire planet using a Windows 95 would be aware of it by that point.

Facepalm

Re: I can't forget some AV package...

On the bright side, it was only one PC AND it was only a warning.