back to article Vapists rejoice! E-cigs lower cancer risk (if you stop smoking, duh)

The first long-term, real-world study on carcinogens in e-cigarettes has found that they are significantly safer than smoking. The study by UCL's tobacco research group found that smokers who switched to e-cigarettes had significantly lower levels of tobacco-specific nitrosamines (TSNAs), and volatile organic compounds (VOCs) …

Re: This is all about carcinogen levels

"Propylene glycol and glycerin are indeed permitted food additives but they have not been 'officially approved' for vaporisation and inhaling"

As they are used as the delivery agent in asthma inhalers, I'd imagine they are fairly "officially approved" for inhaling.

Thumb Up

Re: frank ly

I have extensive experience of both inhaling tobacco smoke and inhaling e-cig vapour and I can tell you that after nine months of heavy vaping, I feel a heck of a lot better and don't get out of breath easily nowadays. Actually, I ought to stop now since it's become just a behavioural and psychological habit that doesn't provide me with any definite sense of physical relief.

I too felt physically much, much better after a 6 months of vaping rather than smoking.

Having quit vaping I feel even better! I started exercising then swimming, beach running. I had never been able to do any press ups my whole life & now at 50 I do ten every day. I'm not a fanatic or anything, but I look & feel so much better being able to get some exercise without gasping like a landed fish. So go for it, you'll save even more money and won't be at the mercy of government legislation.

Silver badge

Less bad

I don't think anyone is saying that vaping is good for you. What they are saying is that as a way to deliver nicotine to an addict it's less harmful than smoking a rolled up bundle of chemically treated plants.

As a non-smoker I'd much rather you were vaping than puffing on that stinking weed.