back to article You're more likely to get a job if you study 'social' sciences, say fuzzy-studies profs

There's great news this week for young persons who'd like to get a good job one day but don't want to do much work at university. A report just out says that actually there's no need to get a tough degree in real science, maths, engineering, medicine, IT or similar - in fact, you don't want one of those. What you want, …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.

Page:

Silver badge

The other arts subjects are soft, but not my one...

I studied Philosophy as a first degree and I can't imagine a better foundation for working as a programmer- a solid training in analytical thinking and a good understanding of logic and problem analysis is more useful in my day to day work than the operating system design and formal system algebra courses my computer science peers were studying.

Of course, I only know that because I went on to study computer science afterwards ( turns out there's not much money in Philosophy ) so I guess I'm not pure fuzzy anyways.

Also a subject with a long reading list and not too many lectures a week is way more conducive to an enjoyable university life. Back when one didn't incur a lifetime of debt by going to university, that was actually a real thing. I still feel that it is important for people to enjoy youth for the brief flash it is afforded to them, not just having to work three jobs to finance a degree course they don't even really want to be on except that everyone else in the job market will have one.

That said, if I was in charge soft degrees would subsidise hard ones, both for national economic purposes and for the betterment of humanity.

Silver badge
Happy

Soft Subject Backronym

From my previous thoughts on the ClockWomble (Tm) thread regarding Coding skills and STEM subjects. I made a landgrab for a Backronym for our poor neglected soft skills cousins..