back to article Dell Inspiron 17R SE 17in Ivy Bridge notebook review

I’m currently mourning the demise of the 18-inch Dell XPS that I’ve been using as a TV/DVD player in my bedroom for the last five years. Hardly anyone seems to make 18-inch laptops anymore, but Dell has come up with a good alternative in the form of the new Inspiron 17R SE (Special Edition). Dell Inspiron 17R 17in Core i7 …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Sorry that handle is already taken. Silver badge

You can still get an 18" laptop from Dell, the Alienware M18x. It's a little expensive though...

1. LarsG
      Trollface

A proper laptop only missing a proper graphics card, it even has a disk drive!

Sod the ultra books.

2. annodomini2

Hmm...

If the 3D Screen is the same unit that's in the last gen XPS 17, while expensive, is worth it.

2 Questions:

2 Drive bays?

What's the chassis like in comparison to an XPS unit? Inspirons tend to be a lower grade.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Meh

I have a 5 year old Dell Vostro 1700 laptop - with a screen resolution of 1920x1200 - anyone care to explain why a machine with a worse resolution is "Special Edition"??

1. Scott Earle
      Coat

"Special"

Maybe it's "short bus" special?

2. annodomini2

Try and find any new machine with a 1200p screen.

1. Dazed and Confused

HD1080 === Low res!

> Try and find any new machine with a 1200p screen

I know how you feel, I couldn't, I needed to replace my HP8730 and couldn't find a new laptop apart from an Apple with a proper screen, and that doesn't have a ethernet port ffs. The only option I could find was to buy a reconditioned previous model. (OK actually Panasonic make a 1920x1200 15" laptop, but the rest of the spec didn't match what I needed and I appreciate the extra 2" these days, used to love my Inspiron 8500 but my eyes aren't what they were).

My job doesn't involve watching blurays.

It does involve handling windows taller than 1080 pixels.