back to article LOHAN deluged with Reg readers' interjections in REHAB

The Special Project Bureau's elite Hypobaric Evaluation And Design (HEAD) team has spent the last couple of days contemplating your suggestions as to how we might get LOHAN to suck more more effectively. Click here for a bigger version of the LOHAN graphic To rewind a bit for Low Orbit Helium Assisted Navigator virgins, we' …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Andus McCoatover
    Windows

I can't bloody wait...

Seriously good fun. Wish I worked as a Vulture. Bet Sarah's not having as much fun now...

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Perspex

Just make the whole top plate from perspex and you have a viewing port for a camera. The pressure will never be more than 15PSI so it wouldn't need to be very thick.

1. Lester Haines (Written by Reg staff) Gold badge

Re: Perspex

Not a bad idea...

1. TeeCee Gold badge

Yes, but:

1) Ensure that the tether's both short and strong enough that the rapidly ascending top plate stands no chance of smashing the camera(!)

2) Another sheet of perspex to protect the camera once the top plate's gone and it's sat in the rocket exhaust(!)

3) Use a high-speed camera. That might return valuable information as to what went right / wrong at the point of ignition.

1. Christoph
          Boffin

How about an angled mirror above the tube, and the camera off to the side?

Probably a metal mirror (with a tether) so you don't have ballistic glass shards.

Hmm. Mirror just resting on supports, so it can get out of the way of the exhaust.

2. Francis Boyle Silver badge

Or just use a sacrificial camera glued to the top plate. It's not like decent quality webcams are expensive these days.

3. Vulch
          Flame

You can get USB webcams for under a fiver these days so probably not worth taking huge precautions against damage.

2. Martin Gregorie

Re: Perspex top cover