back to article Is there any such thing as ‘The Business’?

A seasoned CIO of a large multinational once remarked: “All of these vendors keep telling me that IT must be aligned with the needs of ‘the business’, as if I just had one customer. "The reality is that I am constantly refereeing in squabbles over budgets, resources and priorities between the heads of the eight divisions I …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Define 'The Business'

In the last company at which I worked as a developer, "The Business" came to be understood for what it really meant: the rich-but-inept middle-manager who had (we later found out) ploughed a tonne of money into the company at an early stage and could therefore not be fired, despite how utterly useless she was.

Getting work signed off by 'The Business' was a euphemism, because it would have sounded unprofessional to say that "E doesn't like that today."

2. Anonymous Coward
    Grenade

Can't think of a title

Been there, done that, got the t-shirt. Several times.

The last contract I worked on, we were meant to consolidate systems between different businesses, moving some legacy stuff to some strategic stuff. We halted the project and changed tack twice in a month because the business couldn't decide which was more important and it all came down to which of the business owners could shout the loudest. It eventually all got scrapped when they ran out of budget (having spent a good portion of it arguing between themselves and leaving the IT staff to read El Reg all day for lack of anything to do).

The contract before that was more a case of the business being unable to define their requirements. E.g. we were in a meeting with them, 10 business owners around the table saying "we absolutely need functionality X" so we asked: "please define X" and got 11 different answers.