back to article How to make power conversion less sucky

A stealth startup company whose power-conversion tech could save billions through reductions in energy loss, has gone public, revealing why companies such as Google and Kleiner Perkins have invested heavily in its ambitious plans. Transphorm reduces the amount of power lost when energy is converted from one form to another. …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Sean Nevin

GaNFETs

This seems a bit off. What is it they make exactly? A look at their website seems to indicate they build power supplies, but why is that worth all that investment? Are they designing and/or building the semiconductors as well?

MOSFETs made from gallium nitride instead of silicon are already available, if somewhat more expensive, and have similar characteristics to regular CMOS. But if they were used more, the prices would drop.

As an electrical engineer, I've built a number of power supplies over the years, and I know that switching losses in power transistors are a major part of total conversion losses, but reducing those losses mainly comes from better design of the driving circuits and filters.

While I'd love a better transistor, there is absolutely no reason a good engineer can't design their own power supply. They aren't that difficult, (I'd rate them about medium) and you don't need a company for that.

Or they might be a supplier for OEMs. That could be a good idea, but information on their website is thin.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

GaNFETs

The current generation of GaNFETs have particularly fragile gates. Just a volt or two over the rated limit for mere microseconds is enough to destroy them. The effect is cumulative and the working gate voltages are typically quite low, <6V anyway. Thus impedance in the gate drive circuit has to be extremely tightly controlled usually necessitating at least a 4 layer PCB - not conducive to mass producing cheap PSUs.