back to article Fox promises all change at MoD

Defence Secretary Liam Fox has promised that the Ministry of Defence will end its free-spending ways, following a highly critical report from the Public Accounts Committee. The MoD has written off £5bn this year by cancelling the Nimrod and Sentinel projects. The committee of MPs noted that defence spending exceeds forecast …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Ebaneezer Wanktrollop
    FAIL

Gizza job!

I'm an IT Project Manager, plus I have 13 years of Royal Navy time in submarines and Air Traffic Control under my belt - will never get a job on the MoD project team purely because I know what I'm doing.

Sold Upholder class SSK's? No

Upgraded Nimrod? Never

Procured Typhoon over US offers - you're having a giraffe

There, saved billions already. But alas my pockets are not lined with corporate backhanders.

2. Anonymous Coward
    FAIL

Not surprised

Having worked for a well known company with large contracts with the MoD I can say that the MoD is viewed as a bottomless pit of cash.

I heard this from a PM one day: "The project is late and over budget? We'll just screw the MoD for more money."

And, the company openly admits that they have to retrain project managers and accountants to lose the "on time and under budget "mentality they have because that doesn't get the company the profits it wants to see from the MoD.

If the MoD REALLY wanted to save money, they could write the contracts to be fixed price with no overruns allowed.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Boffin

Fixed Contracts

Fixed price contracts are great in theory, but are useless in the case of a customer that keeps changing the spec, as any large organisation loves doing for one reason another.

I've known weeks worth of design time get thrown in the bin, because the customer decided that the part you're designing a clamp for has now moved 100mm to the right.