back to article Man wrongly detained for 50 days has ISP to thank

Police in India wrongfully arrested and detained a Bangalore man for 50 days after internet service provider Airtel mis-identified him as the person who posted images on Orkut that insulted a revered historical figure. Lakshmana Kailash K., a 26-year-old techie, was arrested at his home on August 31 and transported to Pune, …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

We done it first

I worked as a tester on radius servers at BT - the particular feature I worked on mapped the ip address and time against the dial up numbers (it was a while ago =). So you could enter IP & time and get the person who had dialled in.

Shortly before I joined the police mounted a raid on some poor individual at 3am based on evidence we supplied, only at some point during the development the whole BST/GMT thing was err .... forgotten. So the boys in blue raided the wrong house.

2. Anigel
    Thumb Down

Brown is doin it over here too

Dont forget that they are now upping detention without charge for suspicion of dropping a bit of chewing gum, or any other offense they care to pretend is terrorist related to 50 days over here now.

All in the name of national security they can lock people up and let the police go harass motorists for 45 days whilst you rot in jail before they bother looking for any evidence.

3. daniel
    Unhappy

And this brings up a valid point...

How do you defend yourself when :

a) Your ISP mis-identified someone else as you (R.I Ass. of America, I'm thinking about you...)

b) You get spyware displaying kiddie pr0n and get rumbled due to the program mass mailing it's "charms" to the rest of the net and your ISP calling The Bill.

c) Your wifi get's hacked or a friend uses your pc for nefarious purposes