back to article Windows 7 fans hold hands out for Halloween service pack fun

Windows fans at a loss for what to do over the Halloween weekend can indulge themselves with the first release candidate of the Windows 7 service pack. Not that we're suggesting the RC is some kind of horror fest - although installation times appear to be a tad longer than some fans anticipated. Microsoft slipped out SP1 RC1 …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Bardlee
    WTF?

Well duh.

That guy is complaining it's slow on a system that is barely over minimum specs and has less power than my sub $200 netbook.

Thankfully I work in IT for a living and deal with this idiocy daily.

1. Piro Silver badge
      Thumb Down

Netbook?

I'd be surprised if any netbook for $200 benched quicker than Athlon 64 3000+

2. Anonymous Coward
      Headmaster

Read On Macduff

"Installing the SP1 RC on my 64-bit Win7 Pro box. It has an i7-920 @ 4.2ghz, 6GB DDR3, and 4x250GB Enterprise SATA drives in RAID10. During the install I have 3GB of available RAM and CPU usage never spikes above 30%. *EDIT* The install still took almost an hour even on this new hardware. =("

I work in pharmaceutical research and have to deal with idiots in IT everyday.

2. JB

Lucky dip

I hope the coming service pack will cure the lottery I go through every time I boot up my machine, you never know which error message, random restart or white screen will appear next! Also, how about a solution that automatically connects to the network, please, having to connect manually every time I turn my computer on takes me back to the dark days of dial-up!

1. Brian 6

@JB

You obviously have problems that are nothing to do with windows 7. And I dont know anyone else whose window 7 based system doesn't connect to there preferred network on boot.

1. foxyshadis

I have that problem