back to article EDS beagles blast 'absurd' BSkyB

Lawyers for outsourcing omnicorp EDS branded BSkyB's claim for £709m damages over a customer management system contract "absurd and extravagant" in the High Court yesterday. The deal, inked in 2000, was meant to cost the broadcaster £48m. The installation eventually took six years to complete and cost £265m. When the trial …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Outcome

Straight into that special class of lawsuits - where you hope both sides lose.

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Oh the dilema!

Murdoch vs. EDS, what a choice. Is there a way to engineer this so that they both lose?

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Another demonstration of EDS incompetence

EDS should suck it down and pay the fiddler.

If their original quote was £48m but they left the door open by not having a clear specification, then tough shit on them.

I'm an independent consultant. If I quote someone £2000 to get a job done and it takes me longer, then I either negotiate with them or I finish the job for the original price. It depends on the quality of the original agreement/specification.

I *very* rarely overrun my timescales and costs and certainly never by the obscene amounts regularly claimed by these large consultancies like EDS.

Still, it's always handy to have lawyers to justify your failings.

It seems that when it comes to large contracts, the only criteria for being given the contract (or shortlisted) is whether you've ever done anything like it before. Quadrupling the original budget and failing to produce systems that are fit for purpose (repeatedly) seems to be irrelevant.

Good luck to BSkyB (for a change).

4. Badg3r
    IT Angle

Well they expected what?

EDS have always ballsed up contracts, see Governments IT Projects for reference it's about time someone had a go at them.

5. Anonymous Coward
    Mars

Probably the best thing Sky has done

Sue EDS