back to article Dell cuddles Canonical for big Ubuntu fluffer love

Dell is working with Canonical to help customers float Ubuntu-powered open-source clouds while also cozying up to developers. The hardware maker, better known for flogging PCs and servers running Linux's chief OS rival Windows, is working with Canonical on plans to take the sweat out of setting up Ubuntu clouds on its data- …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Balefire
    Thumb Down

Dell sell Linux PCs?!!

From their website you wouldn't guess it. Try finding anything with Ubuntu as an option and when you finally do, then see the big "Dell recommends Windows 7" adverts plastered all over the page.

Bastards. They claim to be linux supporters, but their "support" is mainly talk and fluff pieces of PR. About time they offered Ubuntu as a real alternative to Windows, available on all if not most of their hardware.

Before anyone mentions compatibility, I refurbish Dell PCs for a living and 99.9% of the time their PCs work with Ubuntu without any issues once I've fixed them. Hell, installing Ubuntu takes anything up to 50% less time than Vista/7 on the same hardware. Even more (less?) if you include the time for installing updates. And then the Windows updates to the updates, and their updates.

1. Smokey Joe
      Linux

Dell sell Linux PCs?!!

Yes. Yes they do. Stop it!!!

2. Ben Tasker

Installing

Whilst installing may take half the time, it's largely irrelevant in this case.

Dell don't exactly sit and install Windows/Linux on each system do they? No they use a master image. So assuming the same hardware in each (I.e. HDD Size), imaging time is probably more or less equal.

I've never had a problem with any flavour of Linux going on Dell hardware either. Had a few problems with Dell Hardware, but not the OS.