back to article Opera pushes out 10.6 preview

Opera has released a public beta of its next browser release, 10.6 - featuring support for royalty-free WebM video and HTML5 offline web apps. This will be the next major milestone for Linux and BSD users, since Opera is skipping an official 10.5 release for those platforms. Opera claims the JavaScript engine is up to 75 per …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Thumb Up

And VERY good it is too.

Benchmarks about 1.5x quicker than Chrome5, 3x faster than Firefox and 7x quicker than IE8.

It's also fully loaded featurewise, with all the useful Firefox extensions built right in (AdBlock, NoScript and GreaseMonkey), and also includes Mail/RSS/News/Chat client fully integrated.

I can't see myself using anything else after using Opera.

1. Anomalous Cowturd
      Pint

Knocks everything else into a cocked hat...

I've been using Opera on and off for about ten years, since the days of ads, and it has always shown a clean pair of heels to all other browsers.

When this comes out of beta, it will be going on my "working" machines, but this preview runs great on an old Celeron test machine under Umbongo 9.10

Opera. The best just keeps getting better.

Have a drink on me chaps!

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Best Regexp Speed

Indeed. I benchmarked Opera 10.53 against Safari 5.0 on my 6 year old PowerBook G4 (SunSpider, V8 and Dromaeo). They were fairly even in most areas, although Safari was significantly faster according to SunSpider (6000ms vs 9000ms). However, there was one area that Opera just monstered Safari: regular expressions. In the V8 benchmark, Opera got 326 runs/s overall. By comparison, Safari got 12 runs/s. In fact, in the regexp part, Opera achieved over 10,000 runs/s. That's just crazy fast!

3. Anonymous Coward
    Thumb Up

re: Best Regexp Speed

On older hardware, Operas advantage is not as pronounced.