back to article US weighs up probes for Apple ad biz checkup - report

US regulators are preparing to probe Apple to see whether it is unfairly restricting competition for adverts on its mobile devices, the FT reported today. The putative investigation apparently centres on whether Apple's spawning of its own network to post flog ads on apps for the much-stroked devices is a threat to media …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. kimbjo

Admob Wrong

Admob/Google are funny. Why does apple have an obligation to let google into their ecosystem? Does google let bing or other vendors into their ecosystem? is adsense an 'option' for the consumer?

2. pj3090

*I'm* not a billionaire

I'm a small-time developer, who might need to rely on one of these ad networks to generate income from an app I write. As such, I would personally prefer to have the widest possible pool of ad partners to choose from.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Thumb Down

@pj3090

I hope to be a billionaire one day, but until then I'm a lowly consumer. And as such I prefer Apple to keep building products the way it's building. If that means you as a developer don't preferential treatment from time to time, so be it. I'm the consumer, it's all about me!

1. Basic
        Grenade

So...

That means that developers who don't like iAd will go elsewhere meaning less apps for you - And that's better how?

Or to put it another way, how does limiting ad providers improve your customer experience in any way?

You're re-enforcing the "fanboi" image and saying you'll love whatever Jobs deigns to throw your way - Surely as a consumer you have an opinion on what you actually want other than "whatever I'm told to want"?

1. Anonymous Coward
          FAIL

@Basic

Firstly, developers won't go elsewhere, in fact this is a good thing for them as they'll get more revenue from iAds, given it's the preferred one on the platform and not really competing much with others.