back to article ISPs told to keep filesharer naughty list

The details of internet users who are accused of unlawful filesharing three times will be recorded on a blacklist so record and film companies can target legal action, rules published today reveal. Ofcom has opened consultation on a draft of the code of practice for enforcing the Digital Economy Act's (DEA) copyright …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. 46Bit
    FAIL

So...

I'd guesstimate that sales of offshore VPNs by UK customers will gradually ramp up to several tens of thousands of % of their current amount.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Final straw

Now the copyright mafia have managed to pressure the government to impliment a "naughty list" it's the final push I needed - I've been pondering getting an offshore VPN for a few months now, but I'm not pondering anymore because I'm definitely going to get one.

2. Anonymous Coward
      Pirate

@46Bit

Putting your P2P client on a VPS somewhere sensible is probably a better option than sharing VPN with the hoard that's imminent....better bandwidth, its cheaper than most services, you own the logs that matter and know you aren't renting from an RIAA honeypot.

For instance, Spain has ruled that P2P filesharing is entirely legal so long as its not for commercial profit [Google for the caselaw on elrincondejesus.com] - plenty of good DCs there where <10 euros a month buys you an unmetered 10mbps.

3. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

First thing I thought too..

Giganews already gives away their VPN with the Diamond service, and it is VERY good.

(Although I moved away from premium usenet for now).

2. Trevor 10
    Thumb Up

At last, a work from home business that actually pays

Upload a bunch of large files with various linux distributions in them named after current high profile films, albums and software to as many public places as possible.

Wait for the infinging letters, appeal, collect the rewards.