back to article Ballmer: Google is winning online

Steve "on the" Ballmer is telling anyone who'll listen about how Microsoft is taking a pasting from Google in the search advertising racket. In a speech in Orlando this week, the Microsoft boss said: "In world search and advertising, Google is the leader, we're an aspirant [shouldn't that be perspirant?]. We have a lot of …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Adam Buckland
    Coat

Well he wins the award...

For spotting the bleeding obvious.

Or did he have to wait for someone to read the search survey results on The Reg to him.

2. Jon Double Nice

I'm no expert

But if Microsoft wants 'a quarter of revenues to come from advertising within a few years', they could just stop selling Windows accordingly - this would allow them to achieve their objective and open up the market to other OSs.

3. adnim

Ballmer says

"We have a lot of work to do in search and advertising"

They also have a lot of work to do on making their OS work properly, that should have priority over annoying users with adverts.

"Our advertising system works..."

Not on my PC it won't.

"when we have something there, we'll show you."

How about showing us a stable, fast and reliable OS?

4. Anonymous Coward
    Jobs Horns

Ballmer still out of the office?

Doesn't he know that major Microsoft products need to be rescued from pending disaster?

5. Chad H.
    Thumb Down

Ballmer, make up your mind

I thought you said a few months ago that Live was better than google... Now you've got a long way to go? Make up your damned mind already.

6. Smell My Finger

He's not so daft