back to article Can Oracle Swing it on SWT in Java?

IDC has offered to charge $500 to tell you what's commonly felt in the Valley: Java faces a potentially better future under Oracle than under Sun Microsystems. You can pay for the report here or read extracted highlights from entrepreneur and Cnet blogger Dave Rosenberg here. In short: Oracle's software business is so …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Zobbo
    Thumb Up

Gaze into the Oracle

Good news. There was a lot of hulabaloo about Oracle killing Netbeans and client Java blah blah, as if Sun hadn't done half the job by pure incompetence. Great engineers at Sun, terrible management. SWT used to kick Swing performance wise, but once the software-emulation purists had been kicked in to touch things got better. I think Swing is a good long-term bet. I also prefer NetBeans to Eclipse, it's slower but much slicker and nicer to use. But I'm no pro, so they might have altogether different opinions.

1. Anonymous Coward
      Anonymous Coward

Netbeans

When I wrote UI's in Java - I loved the Swing/AWT layout designer (especially for Grid Bag Layouts).

Been a long while now - since everyone wants it to run as a thin client in a browser window using AJAX and Javascript (shudder). And then they complain as they are expecting a full application in a web browser to work under IE/Firefox etc...

2. Cazzo Enorme

SWT - yuck.

SWT requires explicit deallocation of objects, doesn't use the MVC approach, and reflects the abomination that is the Win32 API. I'll stick to Swing thanks.

3. amanfromMars 1 Silver badge

Larry gets an Invite ..... to Expand the Oracle Base into A.N.Other's Spaces.

And it would be most Foolish for AI not to Register Alien IDEntity Interests and Patently Obvious Rights in ITs NINJA Platforms for Sole Proprietary ZerodDay Traders and Virtual Market Activity Carries/NEUKlearer Intellectual Property Part Exchange Transparencies.