back to article Freebie BlackBerry bonanza kicks off

BES Express launches today, offering free software for those who want to host their own BlackBerry servers but lack the budget to do so. RIM has started giving away copies of its BlackBerry Enterprise Server Express, which will integrate with Microsoft Exchange to sync up BlackBerry devices as well as offering the most …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Nothing to see here, move along.

This isn't exactly new. I've been installing it regularly for the past 4 years since it was first announced here. Still got a dozen from 2006 running that version of it.

http://www.theregister.co.uk/2006/05/03/rim_sme_blackberry_giveaway/

Looks like a marketing release passing off as news.

1. Rasczak
      Boffin

Different version

The link you give refers to a single user 4.1 version where you have to pay for the extra users and have to have a BES tariff from your carrier, which is generally more expensive than the BIS tariff you get for personal users.

This new version is 5.0 with availability for up to 75 users included and can be accessed using a BIS or BES tariff.

1. Anonymous Coward
        Anonymous Coward

Still nothing new here

Hence I said I've been installing it since 2006. Each year they increase the capacity and scope, and last year they renamed it. But it's not a new concept any more than Office 2010 is a newer concept than Office 2007. It still does what it did before, gets you on the ladder to hopefully uprade to full BES

2. Growler
      Stop

Something to see here

That Reg story states that the 2006 free version of BES Express only supports one user; you have to buy a license for 2-14 users then it's the full-fat BES or nothing.

This new version does not seem to have a limit on the number of devices, just the policies that can be applied.

Please correct me if I'm wrong!

1. eugene
        Thumb Up

just register each device