back to article Symbian shares the source

The Symbian Foundation has announced it will be sharing the last of its source code today, putting the most widespread mobile OS under the Eclipse licence. The Foundation reckons there are 330 million handsets out there running Symbian, and it's been working for the last couple of years to get ^3 (as version 3 is termed) …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. brendand

Android < Symbian

It's really surprising that you should say Symbian is now 'only as open as Android' in light of your headline article. Google obviously don't care about open source unless it exactly suits their needs.

(Disclosure: I work for the Symbian Foundation)

2. Neil Hoskins
    Go

Good point about branding

As an engineer I hate it, but it's true. Tell you what would sell by the cartload if they could organise it: the Psion brand.

3. Mage Silver badge
    Linux

Meanwhile Android gets the boot.

Is Android only technically OSS?

* Secret Road map

* New Versions in Secret, then released as "Open Source"

* Now booted out of Linux Kernel

Nokia with Symbian seems to be "really" going open source, but with Google is it just marketing?

4. Rob Davis

So, can anyone build the source and install it their phone?

So, Symbian is open source. It's a stable platform and still has a large user base.

But can *any* of these users get hold of it in this open source, build it (in, say, Eclipse IDE with the appropriate compiler) and then download and install the resultant firmware on their phone?

1. QuickRecipesonSymbianOS

mostly, yes.

From what I gathered at last year's SEE2009 conference, the point is that you can download the source code, compile it and make a firmware, all for free using only open source tools (I don't quite remember if you can already avoid using a windows computer for development but if that's not already the case, it will be soon).