back to article Oracle tag teams Solaris and Linux

If you want to know what Oracle's roadmap is for Linux, just watch what Red Hat does. Oracle Enterprise Linux is just a clone of RHEL. Getting a sense of what Oracle really has planned for Solaris - aside from deploying it in SMP systems and clusters - is going to take some time. Oracle's plans for virtualization and system …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Made me laugh

"I think Solaris is way far advanced, and I love Linux, but I think Solaris is a more capable operating system," Ellison said. "I think Solaris' home is in the high-end of the data center, and it will be a long time before Linux catches up. I don't think the high end is in trouble at all."

Firstly he doesn't seem to be able to construct sentences, secondly he talks utter, ummm, rubbish :-) I've been working with Solaris for nearly 20 years (well SunOS to start with but you get the idea) and nearly all my clients are in the process of dropping it for one form of Linux or another. I can't really think of anything Solaris does better, but its biggest limiting factor is that it runs on such poor hardware, whereas Linux runs on much faster (at least ten times faster in tests) Intel/AMD hardware.

So Larry's strategy seems to be to repeat something hoping it will make it true, poor fellow.

1. Anonymous Coward
      WTF?

Don't think so...

-Check out the guys at phoronix.com OpenSolaris runs as fast as Linux.

-OpenSolaris runs just fine on my EeePC. Therefore it scales also down. There is even an ARM Port on its way...

-The state of filesystems on Linux sucks. And don't tell be btrfs will be ready in a couple of months.

2. ripratm
      Thumb Down

Larry is right