back to article Ericsson R&D pulls out of Coventry

Ericsson is pulling out of its R&D facility at Ansty Park, jeopardising 700 jobs in the process, despite only moving in six months ago. Seven hundred employees will be affected by the shutting down of the site, which is expected to be completed by the middle of next year - union negotiations not withstanding. Ericsson expects …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Ian Davies
    Thumb Down

This is shitty

I was a student, then lived and worked in Cov for about 15 years, and still work with a lot of people in the area. This was a big deal for the general self-esteem of the City after companies like Jaguar and Massey Fergusson closed their operations there.

Bunch of arse.

2. Anon the mouse

The curse of brown strikes again.

EVerywhere the (unelected) Prime minister goes to visit results in them losing/shutting down/spending Billions of taxpayers money.

Beware the curse Gordon Brown.

3. ForthIsNotDead
    Unhappy

Arse

Twats.

"lower cost based countries". R&D in UK RIP.

4. Anonymous Coward
    Thumb Down

Progress

At least they moved in.

Agilent built a fantastic new $20 million facility on the outskirts of Ipswich and never even moved in - suffice to say it's still available for purchase / rent.

That video was rubbish. The music was OK - was it Spyro Gyra ?

5. irish donkey
    Stop

I sure Lord Mandy will be on hand to take back the keys and wave them on their way

Well thank goodness we have an unelected Business Sec to make sure things like this don't happen.

Oh wait.......

Well I guess it can become yet another enterprise centre or failing that we can always give it away to somebody else to set up a hand car wash in.

Vote! for a change

6. Anonymous Coward
    Flame

As one of those 700 people affected I'd just like to say...

c**ts

7. Steve Crook
    FAIL

Hi Tech country - yeah, right.