back to article Academics gripe about Windows 7 promo collapse

Some UK-based university staff and students who stumped up £30 for Microsoft’s Windows 7 academic offer have complained that the software download supplied by Digital River isn’t working for them. A number of readers have contacted The Register grumbling that they’re unable to download the operating system. The firm sent out …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Yautja_Cetanu
    Thumb Up

All's awesome!

Score!

I went for that deal and everything worked perfectly for me. :)

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Worked for me thisw morning

But then I'm not technically a student so I was up before noon!

3. Ryan 7
    Coat

Well they're clearly not using the latest software!

They should get that new Windows 7 and then try the download - it's much more stable!

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

good news!

Hopefully this will reduce the number of smug "well I'm only paying £30 for my copy" messages that are inundating UK windows forums at the moment.

5. Anonymous Coward
    FAIL

Students?

Just bit torrent the full DVD and stick in the key you were emailed.

6. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Not just a download failure either...

Oh no, it's a lot worse than that. There's also bugs and install problems.

I just got my copy.

It's completely useless to me though, digital river did not provide the .iso file which is required to make a clean install.

Microsoft has a nice little tool to make either a bootable flash drive or dvd here: http://store.microsoft.com/Help/ISO-Tool .. but it needs that .iso file.

Instead of "click here to download the exe or iso" links, digital river has provided it's own download manager.

This download manager doesn't work for some people or crashes halfway through and won't let them restart.

Luckily this didn't happen to me.