back to article A slippery slope for RIM and the BlackBerry?

The news that RIM is launching a consumer/prosumer device called the "Pearl" (aka BlackBerry 8100) has got me all mixed up. As an industry analyst, I can see the logic of what our Canadian friends are doing – releasing a device that is more likely to appeal to the masses than the BlackBerry QUERTY classic and RIM's first …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Balackberry and compared to Razr

Oh don't feel you have a lack of street cred when compared to a RAZR those things are almost totally form over function. the menus are badly designed the predicitve and any text input is terrible and they have an appallingly slow CPU.

Great design to look at - rubbish to use (screen covered in marks all the time? yup).

2. jon fisher

A slippery slope for RIM and the BlackBerry?

having used the interface i think you can rest easy. it's just as intuitive as it ever was. the camera/video/ringtone/mp3 functions are kept in a media menu option which you can safely ignore. the current consumer phones have so many features packed into them they make them incredibly complex to use, i've recently 'downgraded' from a sony k750i to a simple nokia 1600 for this reason - useability. the pearl doesn't suffer from this problem as the interface is essentially the same as previous models.

the addition of the trackball makes navigation easier, you can move about flow-fields easier, you don't have to option-scroll to move downwards through an index of icons.

the only thing stopping me from buying a 8100 is the suretype keypad; it's just as bad as it was on the 7100 series. if they create a full qWerty version they'll have the best device there is (the title currently held by the 8700 of course - i'm a blackberry developer and very biased).

3. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

More rubbish for execs...