back to article Boffins fawn over dirt cheap server clusters

A team of researchers at Carnegie Mellon University have been studying how they can make cheap, low-powered, and relatively unimpressive server nodes gang up and do more work than the two-socket x64 server that is the workhorse of the IT industry. They have come up with an approach called FAWN, which is short for Fast Array of …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Anton Ivanov
    Flame

Nothing new, move along

Not surprising. I have been using in-order (Via up till recently) cpus for servers for 8 years now. They can run circles around a Xeon as long as you do not force them to do heavy computation.

By the way, Intel and AMD are actually better now than they used to be. The difference was truly staggering 8 years back.

In 2002 a Via C3 800 delivered with ease >= 60MB/s ext2 filesystem performance on a RAID 1 software set while consuming 7W (motherboard without disks). An OEM edition of an Intel Xeon 2x2 (2 cpus, 2 threads each) barely crawled at 20MB/s while consuming 200W+ (again motherboard only). That is more than 60 times difference not in Intel's favour. So looking at the graph there has been a considerable improvement in Intel's finest. However, it is still not good enough to beat an in-order CPU doing a simple IO-bound task.

2. Tony Reeves 1
    WTF?

Not That Unique

"One of the key factors behind the wimpy nodes doing so well is that on such a node, processing, main memory, and flash memory speeds are more in synch than they are on a modern x64 or RISC server."

Not all RISC servers - sounds just like the design logic of a SPARC T series cpu.

3. CADmonkey
    Coat

Wimpy nodes?

Aren't they the ones that use proper chips?

4. Tom 7

I know fawns dont have arms

but if they did...

5. Anonymous Coward
    Headmaster

Depends what you mean by "big query set"