back to article US special forces tool up with 'plasma blades'

America's top-secret elite commando forces have been field-testing a "plasma knife" - a handheld unit which generates a cutting "blade" of glowing ions. Disappointingly for any wouldbe kimono-clad combat mystics out there, the handheld energy cutlass isn't intended for hand to hand combat and can't be used for parrying …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Ian Yates
    Boffin

I'm not a doctor, but...

While bleeding to death is definitely not a good thing, surely not bleeding at a point of a cut isn't that great either?

Maybe I misunderstood, but if they're cutting people open to perform surgery, how are they intending to get the "wound" to heal? Seems like an infection nightmare...

2. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

@Ian Yates

No you aren't a doctor...

3. Chimpofdoom!

RE: I'm not a doctor, but...

Basically the whole idea is that you cut them open to remove any foreign objects aka bullets, shards from shrapnel etc etc, using the plasma blade would make this job a hundred times easier than using a conventional scalpel (namely because the blood flow can hide it), if they aren't removed they get infected and well you know the rest.

4. H 5
    Flame

Causterisation

Less bleeding during surgery means a surgeon can actually see what the hell hes doing, you need to get the blood out of the way - field medics are less liky to have equipment and qualified assisntants to swab and suction blood away.

As for infection , you;ve just nuked the bacteria with an effing plasma field. Can't get much more sterile than "consumed by fire".

The wound will heal because only a very thin layer of tissue is cauterised - theyre not BBQing the wound. Burns heal don't they?

Light-Saber Penknives ftw.

5. goggyturk
    Coat

Solid snake

Now all they need is the OctoCamo suit...

Mine's the one with the Eastern European face camo enabled.

6. Falanx
    Alien

Honour, guide me....