back to article How's your desktop support service desk looking?

As everyone working in IT support knows, the job would be so easy if it wasn’t for hardware and software problems getting in the way. Oh, and of course the users. Every help desk call has at least one irate and annoying user attached to it. Without users getting on the phone and sending emails complaining about life, the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Paul 129
    Boffin

Surprised this is still the case.

I currently support retail clients. Ie Joe in the street buys a computer, has a problem with it I sort it out. I haven't set something up to tell when memtest has passed correctly (still needs manual intervention) most of the other tasks are automated. Cloning/Virus Scanning/Editing startup items services, software installation etc. Remote Control etc.

I'm a sole Trader. I would have thought that most corporates these days would simply pickup a box wipe it and replace.

I would have thought that helpdesk these days would be a hand holding service dealing with app operation quirks, the odd bit of office shenanigans, making sure everything is actually turned on, dropped laptops, and hand holding, until you can get a replacement, for those printers with unstable drivers..

Mind you I have trouble getting repeat business.... I seem to catch up with my clients about every 18 months or so.... I need to open a proper shopfront rather than operate out of a home office, sigh.....

2. The Original Ash

Spiceworks

Software inventory, included powerful helpdesk features, automatic propagation of hardware inventory based on WMI and SNMP...

http://www.spiceworks.com

3. W.Hower
    Grenade

Creep with me