back to article Talking DAB and the future of radio

DAB radio usually gets a flailing from Reg readers, and that was before this summer's "switch-off" controversy. Former FreeView chief Tony Moretta has the job of steering the DAB ship through such controversies as head of the Digital Radio Development Bureau, and here's an extended Q&A with him conducted recently. The …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Maverick
    FAIL

utter twaddle

so he says with better reception the audio quality will be better?

OK, now I'm no radio engineer . . . . so let me ask a question of the clever people on here

a station broadcasting with a pathetic bit rate (say 96kbps) but with excellent signal strength magically sounds like or better than one with a decent bit rate? (say 256kbps) . . how's that work then?

seems to me DAB = over promised, under delivered however you spin it, just too niche and will die out . .

2. Anonymous Coward
    FAIL

DAB is wank

DAB sets are more expensive

Use more power (aren't we all meant to be green?)

And offer worse reception (analogue gracefully degrades, digital just cops out)

Quality is often shit

And what will happen with all the old radios? Landfill? At least an old telly can be plugged into a digital PVR or similar.

The entire DAB radio system in the UK is a raging cock-up from start to finish. Typical of Labourite, money-grabbing practice.

3. Anonymous Coward
    FAIL

Deluded

This man is deluded. In its current form DAB does NOT work.

I cannot receive at least two multiplexes it in my home in the centre Birmingham. I cannot receive some of the local commercial services nor the local BBC service. This is a decade or more on from launch. At what point does he propose a satisfactory service?

Equally, driving around with (albeit) a portable set proves how flaky the service is.