back to article Google moves to micropayments

Google is looking at adding a micropayments system to its Checkout payment system. This emerged in a document sent to the Newspaper Association of America which sent requests to various companies to ask for suggestions as to how publishers could make more money from their online content. Google said it would have …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. The Dorset Rambler

I wonder...

If a micro-payment system can be developed that is both simple to operate and cheap to use (for publishers) could this mean the start of a "paid" internet.

For example, on one of my sites I offer relevant and useful information for free. If I could charge a fraction of a penny/cent for each page view, why wouldn't I?

Another example. If I am coding something (I am only an amateur) and I run into a wall what do I do? Google. Would I pay a fraction of a penny to see a solution that might save me hours? Course I would.

2. Michael Hawkes
    Thumb Down

Don't want their business anyway

If content has to be paid for before viewing, users will go elsewhere. Snippets won't help.

When looking for answers to tech problems, I stay away from sites that want me to subscribe or pay before viewing their answers. They might show the question (a snippet), but the answer is only available to the few who pay. I don't feel like paying to find out their answers won't work. If the answers were worthwhile, I might pay after, but not ahead of time.

3. Pawel 1
    Linux

Re: Dorset Rambler

Problem here is that there would surely be a lot of free sources of this information as well. Or someone would create them in response. And if given choice of excellent and cheap vs good enough and free, what will you choose?

4. Steven Hunter
    Stop

Will fail