back to article PerlMonks suffers unholy hack

Web developer site PerlMonks is obliging users to change up their passwords, following a successful hacking attack. The community website, which provides a forum for users interested in Perl programming and related subjects, such as web applications and system administration, posted a notice (extract below) admitting the …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. King Edward I
    Stop

Argh,

Hash. Your. User's. Passwords. (preferably salt them randomly as well).

Come on. I'm a complete novice website created (having created, in total, one website, and that was for a uni course) and even I know this. Gah.

2. Robin Szemeti
    FAIL

Unencrypted passwords?

Unbelievable. It would be forgivable of some 12 year old script kiddie ... but given the holier-than-thou attitude occasionally handed down from that site ... someone really does need taking out he back and shooting.

When you come to think of it .. any site that can mail you your password when you forget it is in the same boat. There is simply no good reason to ever store anything other than a suitable hash of a pw.

Massive fail on that one.

3. Anonymous Coward
    Thumb Up

Testify

"Hash. Your. User's. Passwords. (preferably salt them randomly as well). [...] I'm a complete novice."

Yeah, and I'm one of those PHP devs that perl devs like to sneer at, and I knew about hashing and salting passwords from ... what ... day three of my self-taught course in not being a complete web twat.

Here's to not being an expert and therefore having to engage one's brain.

4. Jach
    Happy

Smug Mode Activated!

Ya know, just 'cause it's Perl this time instead of PHP. :) (Yes I know language doesn't really matter if you know security and blah blah blah.)

On that note, here's some code to generate and rip a combined salt+hashed_with_salt_pass code, in PHP of course:

function get_salt($hash, $salt_length=10) {

$salt = substr($hash, 0, $salt_length);

return $salt;